City Hall

East Bethel's City Government

The City of East Bethel is a "Plan A" city. This means that East Bethel operates on a weak mayor-council plan, so that administrative, as well as legislative authority, is the ultimate responsibility of the city council unless the council has created an independent board.

Residents are represented by the mayor and four city council members. The mayor serves a two-year term, and the council members serve four-year, "at-large" staggered terms. The mayor and each council member have one vote apiece. City elections are held in even-numbered years during the general election in November.

The city provides services in the areas of public safety, planning and zoning, building inspections, public works, and general administration. City services are provided by a staff of 19 full-time and 2 seasonal employees, and 33 volunteer firefighters. Daily operation of the city is performed by various departments under the supervision of the city administrator. The city administrator is responsible for the administration of policies and carrying out of city council directives. Advisory commissions make recommendations to the council on various topics.

City Hall

2241 221st Avenue NE
East Bethel, MN 55011

Phone: 763-367-7840
Fax: 763-434-9578

Hours: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m. Monday through Friday

2024 Holiday Schedule

Directions: East Bethel City Hall is near the intersection of Highway 65 and 221st Avenue. Free public parking is available in the City Hall parking lot. From Highway 65, turn east onto 221st Avenue and proceed approximately 1 mile. Turn north (left) at City Hall.